1967 Party Dresses


This tent dress by Jonathan Logan retailed for $21 (about $100 in 2011)and was also available in pink and blue. It’s very sweet and my favorite dress on this page.


Helena Rubenstein’s ad for their Lightworks line of makeup featured pastel tent dresses by Mam’selle, a division of Puritan Fashions.
Cute earrings; also very nice pearl collar on the blue one.

Spring of 1967, my mother made a pale blue lace tent dress for me, very similar to the lavender one in the above photo. Mine had a standup collar and slanted into the neck. We went to Maryland that summer and I wore the dress when we toured around Washington, D.C. If that sounds a bit formal, just remember that this was before people went everywhere in shorts, t-shirts and with their underwear showing.)

At that time, walking up the stairs in the Washington Monument was still allowed, so my brother-in-law and I did. Now I can’t imagine doing that because I’m really not fond of heights and it was very fatiguing. But I was 12 years old and who can tell an adolescent anything. Jim warned me that there would be no changing my mind half-way up because the elevator didn’t stop between the top and the bottom.

No sandals for me then – I was wearing stockings and a really cute pair of blue Mary Janes that matched my dress. About midway, I started carrying my shoes and I remember how ragged the feet of my stockings became. And how hot is was. D.C. is hot in the summer.


Can you imagine being a model and the photographer is requesting all kinds of weird movements and ugly angles? This is a really cute dress with a really odd pose. Looks like the cameraman was saying “Hai Karate!”

All of the above photos are from the May 1967 issue of Seventeen Magazine.

(And of course, Robbie Rivers is the Jr. Petite line from Bobbie Brooks.)

Leave a comment

Filed under 1960's, 1967, Antiques/Vintage, Dresses (Including Formals), Ephemera, Fashion, Femininity, Hairstyles, Vintage Advertisements, Vintage Magazines

Leave a Reply

