Trust and Disappointment

Jan. 2009 storm Central Market

People will disappoint you.  They just do.  It’s the nature of fallen man. Maybe it’s intentional, but most of the time probably not.

It can be a big something like betrayal in a relationship, or something small like an unkind word (which often hurts and doesn’t feel small at the time).  It’s the sting of broken trust.  We trust people to not hurt us but they do.  And we hurt others.

What does the Bible say about trust?

Overwhelmingly, it speaks of trusting in God.

Psalm 7:1 O LORD my God, in thee do I put my trust: save me from all them that persecute me, and deliver me:

I Timothy 6:17 – Charge them that are rich in this world, that they be not highminded, nor trust in uncertain riches, but in the living God, who giveth us richly all things to enjoy; (There are several verses in both the Old and New Testaments saying this.)

Jeremiah 9:4 Take ye heed every one of his neighbour, and trust ye not in any brother: for every brother will utterly supplant, and every neighbour will walk with slanders.

Micah 7:5  Trust ye not in a friend, put ye not confidence in a guide: keep the doors of thy mouth from her that lieth in thy bosom.  6. For the son dishonoureth the father, the daughter riseth up against her mother, the daughter in law against her mother in law; a man’s enemies are the men of his own house. 7. Therefore I will look unto the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation: my God will hear me.

100_8235

Whoa.

Sounds pretty dark, doesn’t it? Not what the world is telling us. The pop psychologists are constantly telling us that we must trust one another.

It seems to me that the Lord is telling us that only He is really trustworthy.

100_5804

Take Peter for instance. He really loved Jesus. He gave up everything to follow Him. But when it came right down to it and Jesus was arrested and being abused, Peter denied that he even knew Him. Jesus knew ahead of time that Peter would do it and told him so. One of the saddest verses in the Bible to me is when his friend denied Him for the third time and “the Lord turned and looked upon Peter”.

Is the Bible telling us to be suspicious of our friends and loved ones? I don’t think so. I believe it’s saying that we should rely on God and that we should understand the nature of dust.

My husband tells me that it’s dust in the atmosphere that gives such color to the sunset. Hard to imagine that God uses something as mundane as dust to color his sky. But He does.

100_5607

(Credit for the photographs goes to my sister and my husband.)

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Scripture

One response to “Trust and Disappointment

  1. Jan

    Hi Carla! Thanks for visiting and your nice comment! I love the photos! And the pumpkins in the banner. They remind me that I really need to spruce up my blog!

Leave a Reply

