Celebrity Recipes – Good Housekeeping December 1964

Yesterday I posted photos from the December 1964 issue of Good Housekeeping. Carol from Old Glory Cottage asked for the celebrity recipes referred to in the photo. (Carol has some great vintage Christmas images in her sidebar.)

There are too many for me to type all of them and they’re posted in the back of the magazine all chopped up, a column or two on each page so too difficult to scan. But I tell you what I’ll do: since Carol asked for it, I’ll include Lucy’s today, and list each celebrity and the name of their recipe and if anyone wants one, please leave a comment and I’ll post as many of them as I can.

Here’s what it says:

“Lucille Ball, one of Hollywood’s most hospitable stars, often treats dinner guests to this ‘happy ending’.

APPLE JOHN
Make about two hours before serving as follows:
1. Start heating oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 2-quart casserole. Fill it with 8 cups thinly sliced, pared, cooking apples, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel, 2 tablespoons lemon juice and 1/4 cup water; then toss together with a fork. Bake, covered, 1 hour or until apples are tender. Now turn oven heat up to 450 degrees.

2. In bowl combine 2 cups packaged biscuit mix and 2 tablespoons granulated sugar; quickly stir in 2 to 3 tablespoons melted butter or margarine and 1/2 cup milk. Then drop, by rounded tablespoonfuls, around top edge of casserole, also one in center of biscuit ring. Bake, uncovered, about 12 to 15 minutes or until biscuits are golden and done. Cool slightly.

3. Serve warm, with vanilla ice cream on top of each serving. Makes 9 servings.”

Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson: Pecan Pie

Julie Andrews: Striezel, Hot Mincemeat Pie with Rum Sauce

Doris Day: Green and Gold Salad

Bing Crosby: Wild Duck

Deborrah Kerr: Creamy Raspberry Cups

Patty Duke: Crunch Walnut Bread

Jack Benny: Superior Fried Chicken

Polly Bergen: Chili

Tony Curtis: Hungarian Kipfel

Shirley Booth: Chess Tarts

Fannie Hurst: Indienne Beef Stew

Peggy Lee: Hearts of Palm Salad

Johnny Carson: Christmas Waldorf

Eartha Kitt: Salade Nicoise

Danny Thomas: Homos Be Tahinee

Gina Lollobrigida: Christmas Wreath Cookies

Carol Channing: Golden Popcorn Balls

Rick Nelson: Beef Tartare, Stuffed Brussel Sprouts

Beatrice Lillie: Peel Fold Christmas Trifle

Raymond Burr: Grand Marnier Chocolate Mousse

Carol Burnett: Chicken Casserole

Inger Stevens: De Luxe Rice Pudding

Hugh Downs: Nut Filled Cakes

Blanche Thebom: Doppa I Grytan

Walter Cronkite: Harvard Beets

Eileen Farrell: Citrus Froth

Elke Sommer: Christmas Stollen

Dick Van Dyke: Brandied Sweet Potatoes

8 Comments

Filed under 1960's, Baking, Christmas, Cooking, Paper Dolls, Vintage Christmas, Vintage Magazines

8 responses to “Celebrity Recipes – Good Housekeeping December 1964

  1. Thank you Carla for typing that whole recipe! And thankfully it looks like an easy one, which is right up my alley!
    I’ve just been looking through your blog, and I loved the post about the Wards catalog. I have one of those metal dollhouses! I’ve been trying to find an old Sears wishbook. I remember pouring over the toy section, checking off what I wanted from Santa. Hopefully I’ll find one sometime, in someone’s musty old garage at a sale. They’re just way too expensive on Ebay. Well, I’ve bookmarked you, so I’ll be back!
    Have a great day!
    Carol

    • I’m glad you liked the Montgomery Ward post. Old catalogs are one of my favorite things and I have a few (not as many as I’d like, but there’s time.

      If you’re wanting to price something or get information about it, let me know. Maybe I could find it in one of mine.

  2. Jim

    Could you send me the recipe by Shirley Booth.

    *Do not publish email address. Thanks!

  3. Lucy

    Gee, what a DELIGHTFUL surprise to find your blog!
    Could you please send me the recipe by Julie Andrews? I’m not very keen on cooking myself (as a teen you have your mum doing everything for you), but since I’m a huge fan of Julie I kind of want to find all I can about her era, including Christmas recipes… Perhaps someday when I really get to try my hands on it my hidden talent in culinary art will be discovered~

    • Thank you so much, Lucy. Welcome to my blog!

      I’d be glad to send you the recipe, but it may take me an hour or so to find the magazine.

      The Sound of Music was a huge success in America. At that time, all of the movie theaters in Tulsa were single screen and The Sound of Music played at the Brook Theater for about a year. They displayed portraits of the stars in sort of a bas relief in the lobby. It was my husband’s favorite movie for many, many years.

      I was in grade school during the early and mid-1960s and those were great years for me. A couple of my posts were fashions from 1964, and I plan to do more in the future. If you have an interest in a particular year, let me know and I’ll see what I have on it for another post.

      And learning to cook is a wonderful thing. When we married, the only thing I could “cook” was frying bacon and heating a can of soup.

      • Lucy

        Actually I’m a fan of the 50s too, when ladies dressed up so elegantly and the movies were stunningly artistic–sophisticated vocabulary, clean language, inspiring story and beautiful music. I’m especially interested in fashions and entertainment of the 50s and 60s and I’ve often lamented that I didn’t belong to that era.

        Yes, it was Julie who brought me to the golden days of yore, a world that I had never known existed, pristine, graceful and charming. You’ll be very much surprised how much my peers adore Julie Andrews and the “good old times” (mostly under my influence, of course). It isn’t only Julie that I adored, but the whole zeitgeist of her time, people’s values and appreciation for beauty and…well, a certain kind of honesty.

        I’ve just fallen in love with a TV show called “What’s My Line?” and it makes me shudder to think what would it be like to have this show today! They’ll probably lose no opportunity to show off their shameful speech, ignorance and superficiality. I hope someday we can go back to another Renaissance period and make everything old new again~

        Perhaps you might think me a bit abnormal and possess a very queer mania unbecoming of my age…But a lot of other people think so too and it has to do with my background. I spent most of my life in China growing up being taught to act like a “refined lady”. You cannot imagine how egregiously appalled I was by people’s abundant use of four letter words when I first began my education in Canada 2 years ago! So I learned to use the past as an escape from reality, a place where I can really be myself without feeling like an martian.

        Sorry for the long long long reply… I just can’t stop writing once I get started! In case you lost track of what I was trying to say–I really loved vintage fashions & magazines and enjoyed your posts very much!

      • Very nice comment, and I don’t mind the length of it at all.

        What’s My Line? was one of my favorite game shows. It was on television on Sunday nights and my mother and I would get home from church just in time to watch it with my dad. Lots of clips from it on youtube.

        Recently I bought a 1968 Sears Spring/Summer 1968 on ebay and will be posting some of the fashions soon. Clothes were still attractive then, not nearly as repulsive as they were in the 1970s.

        And I have several catalogs from the early 1960s and a Vogue Pattern book from the 1950s. I hope to be posting from those and some others before long.

        You’re right about times being different then. My grown sons don’t believe us when we say how much the world and our society has changed since then. They think it’s always been like it is now, but they’re wrong. Life was much simpler, right and wrong clearly recognized and people were much more polite and civilized.

        I really miss those days.

  4. Gaviota

    Hi
    I would love it if you could post Tony Curtis, Julie Andrews and Patty Duke’s recipes, thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

