Imperfection

There are some fantastic handcrafted cards being made.


Mine aren’t among them.

However, if I allow the pursuit for perfection to stop me, I won’t ever do anything.

Sometime back, Brenda at Coffee, Tea, Books and Me posted a quote by Edith Schaeffer about doing nothing while waiting for perfection; I can’t quote it and I can’t find it, but when I do, I’ll update this post.

Here is one that I did find:

“People throw away what they could have by insisting on perfection, which they cannot have, and looking for it where they will never find it.”
Edith Schaeffer


When looking at the craft magazines and books and paper crafting blogs, it’s apparent that some people are just a lot more talented than others. If my workmanship is not in the same league, I can’t let that stop me from doing what I can.

My mother was a treasure trove of old adages. One of my favorites was:

“It’s what you do with what you’ve got that counts.”

She’s probably not the author of that little quote, but I sure heard it often enough and it’s true. It’s so important to me that I stenciled it (very imperfectly – and not intentionally so) onto the wall above my kitchen cabinets.

Jesus taught us in Matthew 25:23:
“His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.”


That ties it all together. If the Lord has given me an interest in something, will I be faithful to use that and nurture it, or will I bury it in the sand because I’m afraid to fail?

This post linked to Frugal Fridays @ Life as Mom.

4 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Crafts, Crafts - Paper, Ephemera, Family, Free, Scripture, Thrift, Using What You Have

4 responses to “Imperfection

  1. Okay, Carla, your cards are beautiful. But how many do you make? Do you just send a few of these special ones, and then buy the ones I send for all the rest? I sent out about 50 cards a few days ago. Would you ever attempt to make that many?

    Bottom line — I’m interested in doing this for next year. Should I start now? 🙂

  2. I made about 25 this year (in October) and then used ones that I had leftover from previous years. My goal is to make all of them, but I don’t always do it. When working on these this fall, I started with leftover scraps and plain old Wal-Mart cardstock, and no two are the same. I don’t plan it that way, but that’s the way it turns out.

    Card making is a lot of fun and you can spend as much or as little on it as you like. There are some fantastic papers and supplies available. Alas, I’m cheap and usually only buy paper and fairly basic stuff.

    Thank you for your kind comment.

  3. Hi, Carla!

    One other important question — how does the inside look? I made cards for a while, using the stickers that are so plentiful for scrapbooking, and was really happy with the results, but I hand lettered the inside, and I never felt they looked as good as the outside.

    • The insides are a very neglected area of cardmaking. Some people never finish the inside. Most of the time I try to do something that will co-ordinate with the front, but not always, especially if it’s just going to be a “thinking of you” type card. I have rubber stamps that say Merry Christmas, Happy Birthday, Thank You, It’s Your Big Day, Jesus is the Reason for the Season, Glory to God. Sometimes, I’ll repeat a stamped image that was on the front.

      Oh, dear, this is getting to be a long reply. I may do a post of finishing the inside of a card.

      As for the back, they sell some clever ones. My friend Abbey has one that you stamp where the UPC code would be on a store-bought card. It says: Not a Hallmark, but thanks for looking.

      Have you already started on Christmas cards for next year?! What a gal!

Leave a Reply

