New Beginnings


A new year is like a new day, starting fresh.

A clean sheet with nothing written on it.

A chance to begin again.

My resolve was to use this opportunity. This year was going to be different. I was going to sit down and see how I want my life to change – for the better – and then do what I can do work toward those goals.

That’s a pretty good thing.

The problem is that it’s the same person going forth.

My basic nature hasn’t changed. This was evidenced by my reaction when the radio alarm clock came on this morning and immediately played a sound bite by my least favorite politician.

I said something bad. Real bad.

And immediately asked the Lord to forgive me.

And that’s what is so beautiful about the Salvation that comes from the Lord Jesus Christ.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

We don’t have to wait for January 1 or the next morning or anything else.

Forgiveness and redemption are sweet to the soul.

Yesterday I was given the gift of forgiveness from someone I had wronged a long time ago – over 30 years ago. For years I had lived with the sting. I had asked God to forgive me, and He had. It took years for me to forgive myself. When the loved one and I began talking again a few years ago, I was glad, but words about the past never came up and I was content not to have to talk about it. Right after the event I had written a letter of apology but never knew if it had been accepted. Now I know that it was.

What a relief.

One lesson for me in all this is the reminder of what Jesus tells me about sin and hurt and grudges and unforgiveness.

And forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors. Matt. 6:12

But, because I’m in need of forgiveness, I therefore ask Him for a forgiving heart.


I will mention the lovingkindnesses of the LORD, and the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD hath bestowed on us, and the great goodness toward the house of Israel, which he hath bestowed on them according to his mercies, and according to the multitude of his lovingkindnesses.
Isaiah 63:7

3 Comments

Filed under Faith, Scripture

3 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. Beautiful, Carla. May you and yours be richly blessed in 2010.

  2. This should be put into print, Carla!

Leave a Reply

