Made in America – Tacky Glue

Real Deal Tacky Glue


This week’s Made in America feature product is tacky glue from JoAnn’s Fabrics. I think it’s probably equivalent to Alene’s Tacky Glue (also made in the U.S.A.) and Twice as Tacky, which is what I’ve been using in paper crafts lately.

Yes, I use tacky glue on paper. I’m too cheap to buy the fancy adhesive stuff. There’s no way I’m going to buy one of those roller things that dispense the double sided tape. Not even pop dots.

And even though I do have a bona fide roll of the double sided tape, I used to use glue sticks – sadly with disappointing results. If the page had much flexing (like a greeting card), the glue from sticks tended to come loose.

My next glue product to try on paper was Aqua glue. Better than glue sticks but still a little too wet; makes the paper wavy sometimes. Kind of like Elmer’s glue does. Speaking of which, good old American Elmer’s Glue is not American anymore. Made in China.

So then I tried Twice as Tacky and I’m very happy with it. It adheres paper to paper very well, is not too wet and is versatile. I use it to glue on buttons and embellishments and I like having out only one type of adhesive. The table gets pretty messy when I’m working and using only one kind of glue helps. When I went to buy a replacement bottle, Jo-Anns didn’t have it, so I bought their store brand. I’ll use it tomorrow and give an update on how it works.


And the last great thing about it was the price: $1.29. It should last me 6 months – 1 year. (If you clink on the link and go to their site, you can register for email updates and coupons, often 40% off of most things not on sale (read the fine print – I think some of the fancy cutting machines are not included).

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Crafts - Paper, Made in the U.S.A., Shopping, Using What You Have

Leave a Reply

