Found Supplies for ATCs

Artist Trading Cards are a fun, quick and inexpensive way to work with paper and loosely based on the old idea of kids swapping baseball cards. You can swap in person or over the internet.

One video I watched on youtube recommended making your own chipboard base from cereal or cracker boxes instead of purchasing cardstock. Now there’s a cheap idea that I like!

Carrying the thrifty bit a little further, I decided to see what I could do with a magazine and some stray bits from my paper stash.

The lavender themed one I call “Paris Flowers”.

For it I used:
card cut from cereal box
lavender printed bedsheet from a magazine advertisement
pansies cut from a stationery box
clipping from a restaurant review
stamped image of a flower
alphabet rubber stamps
black ink pad
tacky glue
small sanding block – this is to take the shine off the magazine page


Perhaps because I have such a fondness for literature, I generally like something to read on my projects. The restaurant review seemed to fit.

Apparently there are just a couple of basic rules concerning ATCs:
1. They must be 2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ in size.

2. Sign, date and name your card on the back. I also add my address.

3. They are to be traded – not sold.

That’s about it. The rest is up to the individual artist/crafter.

Some are original paintings. Others are stamped or collaged. The background can be paint, fabric, paper, metal or woven Johnson grass.


Last week I had fun working with some sewing supplies that were passed along to me.

Here are a few links with more information:

This one tells a little history and a little how-to.

Instructions

Go here if you’re interested in connecting with people to trade with.

2 Comments

Filed under ATCs, Crafts, Crafts - Cheap, Crafts - Paper, Ephemera, Free, Fun, Internet links, Thrift, Using What You Have

2 responses to “Found Supplies for ATCs

  1. You are so creative and talented, Carla!

    • You are a very kind lady.

      Sorry we missed each other this weekend. We were there for such a short time and we were running here and there.

      Hope you had a nice visit with your son.

      I don’t know when your first visit to Tulsa was, but I tell you it didn’t used to be that way. I’m ashamed of the shabbles my hometown is in. How embarrassing!

Leave a Reply

