Easy-No-Need-To-Buy-A-Mix Cornbread


CORNBREAD

(This recipe is for an 8″ x 8″ pan; for the large cake pan or skillet size, just double everything.)

1 egg, beaten
1 c. cornmeal
1 c. flour
1 c. milk
1/2 t. salt
3 t. baking powder
1 T. sugar
1 – 2 T. oil

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (toaster oven 350-375 degrees).
2. Mix all ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl with a spoon.
3. Butter or Pam baking pan.
4. Use a spatula to transfer batter from bowl to baking pan – it wants to stick to the sides of the bowl.
5. Bake for about 20 minutes until brown on top and knife inserted into middle comes out clean.
6. Serve hot with butter.
7. If you have any left, store it in an airtight container in the freezer until you make cornbread dressing. Or feed it to the birds.

This is a fairly basic recipe and easy to mix up. It came from a regional cookbook we got as a wedding present over 30 years ago. I’ve altered it a bit: lessened the baking powder and oil and added the sugar. I don’t like sweet cornbread, but if you do, add a little more sugar until it suits your taste.

Since I’m from the south, cornbread is like one of the 4 food groups. Beans (pintos) and cornbread is actually my favorite meal. If there’s fried potatoes, greens and chopped onion,
to go with it, well…I’m real happy.

My mother grew up out in the country during the 1920s and didn’t have access to store bought white bread, but she said that her mother made biscuits every morning and cornbread every day at noon (“dinner” to Mama). This must have seemed strange to my Philadelphia-born grandmother, but she adapted to kentucky ways.

The best cornbread I’ve ever eaten was made by Mrs. Hickson, head of the cafeteria at Mingo School. Tuesday was Beans & Cornbread day. Even kids like me (who took their lunch every other day of the week) bought their lunches on Tuesday. I think my friend, Carol, has the recipe. I hope so because I’d love to have it.

This post is linked to Food on Fridays @ annkroeker

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Family, Kentucky, Mingo, Oklahoma

4 responses to “Easy-No-Need-To-Buy-A-Mix Cornbread

  1. Carla, this reminds me of the ham and beans we ate every Monday (wash day) when I was growing up. It was the wash day meal because it was a one-pan meal that simmered on the stove all day (way before crock pots). In later years when I was a teenager (and the only child left at home) so wash day wasn’t so hectic, she would make her wonderful yeast rolls to go with our beans. Heaven! Still one of my favorite meals too.

    • Yeast rolls! Mine are terrible but Joe made some really good ones for Thanksgiving (because the grocery store had run out by the time we got there). Wish I could make cinnamon rolls. I really like good ones but mine have always been kind of boat-anchor-like.

  2. Pingback: Food on Fridays: Tea Distraction «

  3. Oh, goodie! I have a cornbread recipe, but am always interested in trying new ones. I’m very happy you participated in Food on Fridays so that I have it right on my website for super-easy access!

    I love good cornbread…and I’m from the *North*!

Leave a Reply

