1932 February Menu


(Click on image to enlarge to a legible size, and click again, if necessary.)

Needlecraft Magazine printed menu suggestions each month. It’s helpful to bear in mind that 1932 was deep depression. Around that time, my great-uncle sold his 3 story Victorian home in Kentucky for $500.

Average Cost of new house $6,510.00
Average wages per year $1,650.00 (if you even had a job)
Cost of a gallon of Gas 10 cents
Average Cost for house rent $18.00 per month
A loaf of Bread 7 cents
A LB of Hamburger Meat 10 cents
New Car Average Price $610.00
Average House Price 540

Go here for more information about 1932.

This post linked to Food on Friday @ annkroeker.com

8 Comments

Filed under 1930s, Cooking, Ephemera, Family, Thrift

8 responses to “1932 February Menu

  1. These days we have so much in comparison. My dad was born in 1928, so he’s a Depression-era baby. This would have been the world he grew up in. I couldn’t read all the menu items, but I am so intrigued! Thanks for sharing this vintage info.

    • I apologize for the quality of the scan. We had to try twice. Most of those old magazines are over-sized and difficult to scan properly. Some of the menu items were a little unpleasant sounding, like codfish balls, but generally sounded like well rounded meals.

  2. Thanks for posting, that was very cool to see. I can view it fine.

  3. Charlene Kreger

    A physics teacher in high school, once told the students that while
    one grasshopper on the railroad tracks wouldn’t slow a train very
    much, a billion of them would. With that thought in mind, read the
    following, obviously written by a good American ..

    Good idea .. . . one light bulb at a time . . . .

    Check this out . I can verify this because I was in Lowes the other
    day for some reason and just for the heck of it I was looking at the
    hose attachments. They were all made in China . The next day I was in
    Ace Hardware and just for the heck of it I checked the hose
    attachments there. They were made in USA . Start looking ..

    In our current economic situation, every little thing we buy or do
    affects someone else – even their job . So, after reading this email,
    I think this lady is on the right track . Let’s get behind her!

    My grandson likes Hershey’s candy . I noticed, though, that it is
    marked made in Mexico now. I do not buy it any more.

    My favorite toothpaste Colgate is made in Mexico … now I have
    switched to Crest. You have to read the labels on everything ..

    This past weekend I was at Kroger. I needed 60 W light bulbs and
    Bounce dryer sheets . I was in the light bulb aisle, and right next
    to the GE brand I normally buy was an off-brand labeled, “Everyday
    Value . ” I picked up both types of bulbs and compared the stats –
    they were the same except for the price .. The GE bulbs were more
    money than the Everyday Value brand but the thing that surprised me
    the most was the fact that GE was made in MEXICO and the Everyday
    Value brand was made in – get ready for this – the USA in
    a company in Cleveland , Ohio.

    So throw out the myth that you cannot find products you use every day
    that are made right here ..

    So on to another aisle – Bounce Dryer Sheets . .. . yep, you guessed
    it, Bounce cost more money and is made in Canada . The Everyday Value
    brand was less money and MADE IN THE USA ! I did laundry yesterday
    and the dryer sheets performed just like the Bounce Free I have been
    using for years and at almost half the price!

    My challenge to you is to start reading the labels when you shop for
    everyday things and see what you can find that is made in the USA –
    the job you save may be your own or your neighbors!

    If you accept the challenge, pass this on to others in your address
    book so we can all start buying American, one light bulb at a time!
    Stop buying from overseas companies!

    (We should have awakened a decade ago .. . .. . . . )

    Let’s get with the program . . . .. help our fellow Americans keep
    their jobs and create more jobs here in the U . S . A ..

    I’ve never commented before, but I came across your blog a few months ago and enjoy reading it.
    When I got this e-mail today I immediately thought of you!

    • I’m so glad you left the comment – and such an interesting one. I concur on looking at the labels. Now I read the labels on almost everything. Unfortunately, lots of people have a defeatist attitude about buying American. They say that it’s all made in China so why bother. But I’ve found that time after time when looking for an item, that one of the brands will be made in the U.S.A., and as the email said, often it’s the housebrand. Even better, but I’ve decided to buy domestic products even if they cost a little more.

      Please feel free to comment any time you like.

  4. Pingback: Food on Fridays: Lenten Lentils «

  5. Carla — What I most loved about this old copy was the series of Del Monte ads along the right side of the page. Fascinating! Especially the one about men LOVING asparagus so suggesting you serve it on lettuce with some mayo. Yum!

    It was also very interesting to see how many products Del Monte marketed then — like coffee and apparently canned asparagus!

Leave a Reply

