Such is Life

From the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary:

Main Entry: vi·cis·si·tude
Pronunciation: \və-ˈsi-sə-ˌtüd, vī-, -ˌtyüd\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle French, from Latin vicissitudo, from vicissim in turn, from vicis change, alternation — more at week
Date: circa 1576

1 a : the quality or state of being changeable : mutability b : natural change or mutation visible in nature or in human affairs
2 a : a favorable or unfavorable event or situation that occurs by chance : a fluctuation of state or condition b : a difficulty or hardship attendant on a way of life, a career, or a course of action and usually beyond one’s control c : alternating change : succession

(emphasis mine)

Several weeks ago, I posted that I had pneumonia, “or something”. Apparently it isn’t pneumonia.

The chest x-ray looked bad. The chest ct scan showed a mass. The bronchoscopy was futile and the biopsy inconclusive.

Thursday I have surgery. There are probabilities with all kinds of caveats, but no diagnosis until afterwards. The surgeon said to expect to be in the hospital about a week.

There are several risk factors for lung tumors, of which I have none. That’s a good thing. Never smoked, never worked around chemicals, etc.

My husband has a couple of weeks of vacation saved up, which is wonderful. And his company will allow him to work from home when he needs to.

I guess we’re kind of a couple of funny ducks. He wants to be alone during the surgery; and I want us to be alone when I come home.

After both of our sons were born, I wanted it to be just him and me and our sons in the house. I was afraid it would hurt my mother’s feelings (it didn’t). I’ve always been very private about pain and modesty and things. Since I was a very little girl.

It would actually be distressing for me to not be alone with Joe. So, I’ve asked family and friends to please be understanding. I can recuperate more quickly if I can limit interaction.

Wi-fi is available in the hospital, but I doubt very much that I’ll be using it for a few days. I’m trying to get a few posts into my draft folder. Most of them won’t be serious things, just some fun stuff.

I could use a little fun and I think most of us could.

6 Comments

Filed under Vicissitudes of Life

6 responses to “Such is Life

  1. I’ll be praying for you!

    I was the same way after the births of my children. I wasn’t trying to be unsociable or difficult, but I am just a very private person and prefer to go it alone, so I can relate to your wishes.

  2. Thinking and praying for you daily, friend.

  3. I’ve been praying for you, Carla, anxiously awaiting an update!

  4. Thanks, Fran. Today is the first day that I can really say that I feel better. Hope you both are doing well.

Leave a Reply

