From the I.C.U.

I’m writing this from the I.C.U. because there is a shortage of available rooms on the floor and I’m on the waiting list.

On Feb. 25, the lower lobe of my left lung was removed because of a 4cm mass. A sample of that is being tested at a couple of Mayo clinic facilities. They still don’t know what it was.

The first week of recovery was pretty rough and is kind of a blur now. The pain was mostly controllable, but the worst part was getting over the anesthetics and then the narcotics I was taking for pain. Delicate balance there between enduring pain levels and how sick the drugs make me.

I don’t think I’m wording this all that well, but please understand that this is the very first day I’m even able to do this much.

After 12 days in the hospital, I went home and the home health nurses were coming to help. 3 days later I had to go back to the emergency room because of excessive bleeding from one of the chest tube incisions. I thought they would just stitch me up and send me back home. Instead I was readmitted and Sunday morning another drain tube was inserted. This time on the front of my chest – this is a better place for it. The first time I had two tubes inserted in my back. Hard to get comfortable that way.

So, I’m guessing that I’ll get to return home in a couple of days.

God bless my husband who has gone way beyond the basics in taking care of me.

Thank you, Jesus, for holding my hand.

8 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Vicissitudes of Life

8 responses to “From the I.C.U.

  1. I am so relieved to hear an update. You have really been in my prayers, and will continue to be as you await test results and work through your recovery.

  2. Carla — I am sooo relieved to hear from you. Mamosa said exactly what I was going to say. Take care my friend!

    The next time we are in Tulsa I want you bright eyed and bushy tailed so that we can get together! 🙂

  3. marges8

    Carla – I was just checking out some of the blogs from people who had commented on my blog. I am so sorry to hear of the thing you have been going thru and know you have been added to my prayer list. Hope by now 3-21-10 you are back home and on the mend. Keep your faith and things can only get better. In friendship Marge

  4. Carla,
    I came to your website while researching Mom and Pop stores. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures and your family’s stories.
    I hope for your speedy recovery and will pray for your health.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

