1968 Swimsuits

Well, it’s real summertime here in Texas (never mind that it officially begins next week), and my thoughts turn to something cooler. Like swimming.


I had the white eyelet one with yellow -eye daisies (on the far right).

If memory serves me right, the only time I had a real two piece with the midriff bare was when I was in the 6th grade, and I remember how embarrassed I was to be that exposed. There’s no way I would’ve worn that pink number.

The prices on the swimsuits are rather surprising. Product costs are now about 5 times what they were in 1968, and I just don’t think I’d pay $75 for a swimsuit. Some of the dresses were half the price of a swimsuit. Why? There’s certainly less fabric.

2 Comments

Filed under 1960's, 1968, Clothing, Ephemera, Fashion, Sears, Vintage catalogs

2 responses to “1968 Swimsuits

  1. Hi Carla,

    Oh swimsuits…the bane of my existence :o). I remeber well those suits…how cool you have the catalog – priceless! Love the eyelet one!

    Thanks for the visit and kind words about my studio – I’ll be reposting about my studio on Saturday when I participate in “Where Bloggers Create”. I’ll be posting some photos I never shared before. Should be a fun blog event…there will be tons of cool studios!

    So great to meet you…and Sandra too. I’m usually slow about getting caught up with visiting, but I will eventually make it around to folks…not like there are hundreds either..I’m just a slow poke :o) I LOVE visiting with Believers!!!

    Have a great weekend! Hugs & Blessings,
    Becky

Leave a Reply

