Altered Box

This is a box that I made for my sister. I’m just a tad late. February 14, 2009 to be exact. That was when my sister (Fran), our friend (Abby) and I did a Valentine box exchange.

Altered box lid.

Glitter just seems to make everything better. I highlighted parts of the box lid with with silver Stickles (another great Made in the U.S.A. product) but it doesn’t show in the photos.


The box I started for her didn’t turn out well, so I just put it aside. I actually did give her the contents at that time – just not the box.

It has a hinged lid and is fastened with velcro.  It’s a little confusing figuring out how to open it, so I stamped the instructions to Lift Here by the handle (just above the lettering and not visible in the photograph above).

Inside the lid.

Of course, I didn’t make the box itself; I just altered one.

The paper is Graphic45 and made in the U.S.A. I purchased it from a really great shop in Skiatook, Oklahoma called Sparks Fly Studio. It’s a wonderful place that’s hard to pigeonhole. They have lots of supplies for whatever kind of paper projects you prefer: scrapbooking, card making, altered books, altered boxes, etc. But it’s more than just that, which I guess is why it’s called a studio. Among the classes they offer is one in calligraphy, which I’d like to take.

When (hopefully not if) I can retrieve photos from the balky laptop, I’ll post the ones I took the day Fran and I shopped there.

It’s a real jewel.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1920s, Clothing, Crafts, Crafts - Paper, Ephemera, Fashion, Internet links, Local Shopping, Made in the U.S.A., Oklahoma, Oklahoma, Shopping

Leave a Reply

