Songs about Geographical America


This was a fun list that Joe and I came up with: all the songs we could think of that are about American states, cities, rivers, regions, streets. They don’t have to be specifically about the namesake, but just have a word in the title or be about one. When finetune.com was still allowing individual playlists, I set one up with a lot of these songs.

If you can think of any we missed, please leave it in a comment. Some are a little bit of a stretch -like Georgia Brown; and Never Been to Spain, despite having a foreign country in the title mentions being born in Oklahoma (and is my favorite 3 Dog Night song. I can’t tell you the thrill it gave me when those first a Capella words sang out over the radio in 1972! It always brought a smile to my face.).

OUR COUNTRY
America the Beautiful
American Patrol
Battle Hymn of the Republic
Coming to America
God Bless America
God Bless the U.S.A.
My Country ‘Tis of Thee
The Star Spangled Banner
This Land is Your Land

STATES
Sweet Home Alabama
North to Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas Traveler
California Girls
California Here I Come
California Nights
It Never Rains in California
The Devil Went Down to Georgia
Georgia on My Mind
Sweet Georgia Brown
Blue Hawaii
Hawaii 5-0
Indiana Wants Me
Kentucky Rain
My Old Kentucky Home
Never Been to Spain
Oklahoma!
Oklahoma Hills
Pennsylvania 6-5000
Ballad of Davy Crockett (Born on a mountain top in Tennessee…)
All My Ex’s Live in Texas
Deep in the Heart of Texas
Texas, My Texas
Yellow Rose of Texas
Carry Me Back to Old Virginny
The Virginian

TOWNS and CITIES
Abilene
Allentown
Ashokan Farewell
Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe
Buffalo Gals
Shuffle Off to Buffalo
Camptown Races
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Theme from Cheyenne
Theme from Chicago Hope
Chicago, My Kind of Town
El Paso
Galveston
Gary, Indiana (from the Music Man and submitted by Sandra)
Houston
Jackson
Everything’s Up to Date in Kansas City
Kansas City
Luckenbach, Texas
Viva Las Vegas
Memphis
Theme from Miami Vice
Okie from Muskogee
Nashville Cats
Battle of New Orleans
City of New Orleans
New York, New York
Sidewalks of New York
Meet Me in St. Louis
St. Louis Blues March
San Antonio Rose
San Francisco
Tallahassee Lassie
Living on Tulsa Time
Take Me Back to Tulsa
Twenty Four Hours from Tulsa
Washington Post March
Wichita Lineman

STREETS and ROADS
Basin St. Blues
45 Minutes to Broadway
On Broadway
42nd Street
Get Your Kicks on Route 66
Route 66
Take Me Home, Country Roads

RIVERS & WATER
Red River Valley
Old Man River
Shenandoah
Swannee
Way Down Upon the Swanee River

REGIONS
Remember the Alamo
Theme from the Alamo
Appalachian Spring
Blue Bayou
Dixie
Rocky Mountain High
Yankee Doodle
Yankee Doodle Dandy

Somewhere Over the Rainbow should be listed, but I’m not sure whether it would be The Country, or States (Kansas).

4 Comments

Filed under America, Fun, Made in the U.S.A., Music

4 responses to “Songs about Geographical America

  1. wow…that’s quite the list!! Thank you for your comment. Black River is also beautiful in the winter…have some pics back in one of my feb posts. Have a great week~

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’ll have to check out your winter photos. Somewhere, someplace we have a disk with our wintertime visit to NY. Really need to find that…

  2. That IS an impressive list, Carla. I’m trying to think if Tulsa Time by one of my favorite country singers Don Williams is the “Living on Tulsa Time” you listed. I suppose it is.

    The one I can add to your list is “Gary, Indiana” from The Music Man.

    • Sandra, it was fun trying to remember as many songs as I could but I had to quit thinking about it at bedtime, because then I couldn’t go to sleep. There seemed to be an elusive title that was escaping me.

      Yes! It is Don Williams’ song. I probably have the title wrong. Youtube has a video of him singing it and I’ve nearly worn it out (remember how we used to wear out vinyl records and they’d get all scratchy?) from playing it.

      And thanks for the Gary, Indiana. I’ll add it to the post and give you credit. I knew there must be more songs from Rodgers & Hammerstein, Lerner & Loewe, etc. but I couldn’t think of them.

Leave a Reply

