Made in the U.S.A. – Scotch Tape

3M Scotch Magic Tape

Not all tape is made in the U.S.A., but 3M Scotch Magic Tape is.

It is currently on sale at Wal-Mart for $.75, along with other back-to-school supplies, which makes it a good time to stock up for all the gift wrapping this Christmas.

There are other generic tapes that are made elsewhere and are cheaper, but if more Americans were willing to spend a little bit more, then maybe we could save more American jobs.

I’m thinking about this a lot, since my husband has told twice in the last week that some of the people at his place of work have been laid off.

Please, buy American whenever you can.

5 Comments

Filed under America, Current Events, Made in the U.S.A.

5 responses to “Made in the U.S.A. – Scotch Tape

  1. I know this post is about a year and a half old, but I thought I’d mention that 3M’s “Magic Tape” is still made in America. It’s costing about $2 per roll now though.
    Also some additional things I’ve noticed that are made in America off the top of my head are many products from Rubbermaid, as well as the Kitchen Aid Mixer. I also noticed some plastic baskets at the dollar tree in Pulaski VA that were made in USA. Additionall in that same store, about 80% of the wine glasses that had on the shelves were made in USA. I found this rather surprising. The glasses each cost $1 each.

    • Thanks for visiting and I appreciate your input/updates! In fact, I’m going to use this as a new post.

      Although Dollar Tree has lots of stuff made overseas, it has lots of merchandise that’s made in the U.S, too. One just has to look at the manufacturing label. It isn’t enough to look for the American flag emblem, because some of the Chinese products are using it on the front, but the label on the back or bottom still says “made in China”. They must think we’re lazy and dumb. Too lazy to pick the item up and look at the label.

      • Oh, I just happened to think, one that will REALLY surpise you!
        Believe it or not, I purchased several boxes or stranded icicles for a Christmas tree (the ones that are loose and you just drape them over the branches)
        The boxes of icicles were made in the USA. In my entire life I have NEVER seen a mass produced Christmas decoration made in the USA.
        It made me think that if the manufacturer is making icicles, they must also make other decorations as well, and it made me wonder what they might be.

      • Do you remember who the manufacturer was?

        I’m amazed that something like icicles are still made here! It seems like nearly everything in the stores is made in China. They aren’t really, but sometimes it feels that way.

        I tried to buy gloves at Christmas and gave up after looking at almost 10 pairs. All of them made there.

  2. Julie

    I am so proud of you for your dedication! I have just committed to buying American and it is tough! But since I made the decision, I am finding there are lots of things out there that I didn’t know about! Excited for this adventure!

Leave a Reply

