Doris Day Paper Dolls

Doris Day, Whtiman Publishing Company, 1955

Among serious paper doll collectors, I’d be considered a rank amateur. And that would be accurate, because I don’t collect things that I think might become valuable someday.

First, I buy what I can afford. No matter how much I may want something, I simply won’t buy it if it’s not affordable now.

Second, my favorites are replacements of what I had when I was a child and foolishly (arghhhh!) took to the burn barrel right before I got married. That was stupid on many levels, one of which is that I’ve forgotten several of them. Seeing paper doll clothes sometimes triggers a memory even more than the doll itself. I didn’t have all that many paper dolls, because even though they were cheap (the typical price was .25 for a package), most girls I knew didn’t have lots and lots. We were not an over-indulged generation. (I had one Barbie and was thrilled to have even that.)

Third, I prefer to buy vintage, and pre-loved (use, played with) dolls and/or their clothes. Although I do have several books of new ones, I get the urge to get out the scissors. I usually don’t, but I want to. There are several booklets of Dover paper dolls in my box, and a few from other places (mostly museums, like the Bath Costume Museum) and they all remain uncut.

Doris Day Paper Doll Clothes, 1955

The only uncut vintage book I have are these Doris Day, 1955 issues by Whitman. I bought them back in the early 1990’s at an antique store in Kingwood, Texas and I paid way too much for them. Paper dolls were hard to find. This was before anyone except hackers and professionals had even heard of the internet. Now anyone from anyplace can post them and they’re more affordable (which is great). In fact, the prices have come way down (probably due to their ready accessibility). About 1999, I bid on an old set of Lucille Ball paper dolls on ebay. Chagrin prevents me from disclosing how how I bid, but let’s just say that it was well below the $160.00 that was the winning bid. Those same dolls can be bought now for far less and many laser copies are available, too.

Doris Day Paper Doll Clothes, 1955

Anyway, in the case next to the Doris Day set, was one of Elizabeth Taylor from the same era. They were priced a little more and since I just like Doris better than Elizabeth, I bought them.

Doris Day Paper Doll Clothes, 1955

Now it’s 17 years later, and they’re probably worth about the same as what I paid for them. Which, all things considered, isn’t really all that bad. It’s a better investment than that lousy Mexican meal I had in Kingwood.

*Go here for more Doris Day paper doll clothes.

*Update: April 20, 2011 – When enlarged, the paper dolls get very pixily and unpleasant. I tried scanning them in on the highest resolution setting I could, and it didn’t change them at all.

12 Comments

Filed under 1955, Actresses, Childhood pastimes, Ephemera, Fashion, Femininity, Paper Dolls, Updates

12 responses to “Doris Day Paper Dolls

  1. Wow, Carla — what a walk down memory lane! I think I had this same set. Looking at her outfits, especially that long green number, triggered my memory. What fun. Thanks for posting these. 🙂

    • It’s funny because I can better remember having a set by looking at the clothes rather than the doll. I’m going to re-post the dolls because they didn’t scan well enough to print. And I do hope that ladies will print them off and introduce their little girls or young granddaughters to the joys of paper dolls. Or maybe just print them off for crafts or scrapbooks. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

  2. Pingback: Doris Day Paper Doll Clothes | carla-at-home

  3. Hi 🙂
    I just found this page by chance and l really enjoyed it.
    I had lots of paper dolls, when I was a child, and loved them ~ but never Doris Day.
    DD was a great favourite in our house ~ Mum and Dad loved her records and her films ~ so these still take me back 🙂

  4. Dannette

    My favorite was my Lennon sisters paperdolls

    • The Lennon Sisters would’ve been a great set to have (I didn’t have them). They were so pretty and there would be almost endless make-believe situations with the dolls.

      Thanks for visiting!

  5. alice farrier

    when i was a little girl i would save my money just too buy paper dolls i love them

  6. Using the “Descreen” filter on your scanner will make a big difference and get rid of the pattern caused when scanning anything printed or photocopied.

    Best wishes with your collection and hope you pass them on along to your grandchildren with your memories.

  7. Una Margrét Jónsdóttir

    It was probably around 1973, when I was a little girl here in Reykjavík, Iceland, that my parents took me to a fleamarket. I saw this Doris Day paper doll there and they bought it for me. But the paper doll in the green shirt and top was missing. This posed a bit of a problem because some of the clothes didn´t fit the paper doll I had. I tried to make her use them, though. I had never heard about Doris Day, but since that was supposed to be the paper doll´s name I called her Dóra – the Icelandic version of Doris. Later I got a 1964 Lucille Ball paper doll. I had never heard of Lucille Ball either, so I called her Lúsía. But later that year the Lucille Ball movie “Fancy Pants” was shown on TV and of course we watched it together – me and the paper doll! I thought it was a wonderful movie. I have still got both paper dolls.

    • What a wonderful story!

      My 1964 set of Lucy paper dolls had her wearing a lavender raincoat on the cover. A few years ago I posted a photo of them, but I checked and it’s gone. I’ll have to fix that later.

      My Doris Day paper dolls were bought long after I’d grown up. The seller also had a very old set of Elizabeth Taylor ones, but I couldn’t afford both, so I chose Doris. I have none of my originals, but I’ve replaced many of them.

      Thank you for visiting and please share more stories about your paper dolls.

Leave a Reply

