Maternity Clothes, 1960 – 1972

1960 Fall Winter Sears

1965 Fall Winter MW

1965 Fall Winter MW

1966 Montgomery Ward

1966 Montgomery Ward

1972 Montgomery Ward

It was 1975 when I was expecting our first child; I read everything I could get my hands on about pregnancy. All the books encouraged women to try and look their prettiest. They advised that it would help boost confidence, and I think the writers were correct.

My mother started sewing maternity clothes for me; I had the prettiest clothes of my life and more of them (she did the same thing again 5 years later when I was expecting our younger son; this time I needed winter clothes. She even made me a cape so I wouldn’t have to wear a coat that was gaping open in the front). I think it was important to her to do that for me because when she was expecting my older sister, she and my dad didn’t have much money. She said she only had two maternity dresses. She’d wear one and wash the other. Knowing my mother, I imagine she ironed them, too.

When I was choosing the tags for this post, it seemed right to check the Femininity box because that goes to the heart of why I’ve been thinking about maternity clothes. Rarely do I see expectant mothers wearing maternity clothes anymore, and even more rarely are they pretty ones. Before our first grandson was born Joe and I went to buy Anne a maternity dress and we went to about 3 stores before we found one, and even in 2003 the selection was very poor. It may be almost non-existent now.

I don’t understand this. Many of the current fashions are just plain ugly and extremely unflattering to women. However, some of the dresses I’ve seen this summer were quite pretty. So why not pretty maternity clothes?

7 Comments

Filed under 1960, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1970s, Fashion, Femininity, Maternity, Montgomery Ward, Vintage catalogs

7 responses to “Maternity Clothes, 1960 – 1972

  1. Hi! Thanks so much for coming by my blog. 🙂

    I’ve been enjoying reading yours! I have you bookmarked in my favorites, now. I totally agree with you on the maternity clothes. I don’t understand why women wouldn’t want to look beautiful while pregnant and the clothes nowadays just don’t do it. I love the look where everything isn’t “sticking out”. LOL

    God bless you – Julie

  2. zakkalife

    I love all the vintage catalog pictures you shared.

    When I was pregnant with my children, I actually had no problem finding cute maternity clothes. But that probably has a lot to do with where I live.

    • Thanks for visiting! Looking through the old catalogs is so much fun for me – it transports me back to when I was a kid and a new one arrived in our mailbox. And now I see clothes in them that my mother bought for me, and I’d forgotten all about them.

  3. Pingback: 1965 Hairstyles: How To (Part II) « carla-at-home

  4. Eva

    Hi Carla

    I hope you did not mind that I used this with a link to text and pics to our (Hungarian) blog post about maternity fashion around the world in the 60s and 70s. It was amazing to see how many wonderful stlyes were available in “happier” parts of the world in those days.

    • You’re entirely welcome and I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures.

      During my pregnancies in the mid-70s and 1980, I had some really cute clothes – because my mother sewed them for me. She and my father had been been poor when she was expecting, and she wanted me to have nice things. Nothing was expensive, but they were stylish and made me feel special.

      We rejoice in a free Hungary and eastern Europe!

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I’ll upload more maternity fashions later, and will try to let you know when I do.

Leave a Reply

