Stenciled Christmas Cards, 2010

This is a Using What You Have post:

Yes, I know it’s already December 20th, and I haven’t sent out our Christmas cards.

In fact, until 8:00 a.m. this morning, I didn’t even have any.

What I did have was some white card stock, Christmas stencils of ornaments and snowflakes, white and navy blue acrylic paints, a stencil brush, some Christmas rubber stamps, a 15 year old blue stamp pad (never re-inked), some Stickles and a box of envelopes that my friend Donna bought for me at a garage sale a couple of years ago.

First I cut the card stock in half, then folded each piece once to make the basic card.

Then I mixed about 1/2 teaspoon of navy acrylic paint with 1 teaspoon of white. I didn’t measure it – I just estimated a 2 to 1 ratio because that gave me the light blue I was looking for.

Then, I placed the stencil over the folded card, and using a stencil brush with very little paint on it, stippled the paint on. After setting them aside to dry (which is really fast if not too much paint is used), I turned the envelopes over and stenciled a small snowflake or ornament over the point of the back flap.

Next, I used Stickles glitter glue to highlight parts of the design. After that was dry (and Stickles do take awhile to dry), my sister (who was here helping me by this time) ran the blue stamp pad around the edges of the front of the card to kind of frame it.

Then Fran and I stamped the inside message, either “Wise Men Still Seek Him” or “NOEL” and “Merry Christmas” along the left edge of the front side of the envelope.

Now I just need to sign and address them.

And of course, mail them.

2 Comments

Filed under Cards, Christmas, Crafts - Cheap, Crafts - Paper, Faith, Thrift, Using What You Have

2 responses to “Stenciled Christmas Cards, 2010

  1. Thats a very cool, economical idea for card making.
    I bet the recipients appreciated the home made quality, the effort put in and all that

Leave a Reply

