Vintage Doily Valentines


(Click on the image to enlarge – the words become legible.)

This page is from the February 1943 issue of Children’s Activities magazine. After working at Children’s Activities, Garry and Caroline Myers started Highlights for Children, then eventually bought C.A. The similarities are obvious – they are both high quality magazines with fun and educational activities.

I apologize for the quality of the scans. The magazine is oversized and won’t fit on my scanner so I had to take photographs and they aren’t perfect.

4 Comments

Filed under 1940s, 1943, Childhood pastimes, Crafts - Paper, Ephemera, Valentine's Day, Vintage Magazines

4 responses to “Vintage Doily Valentines

  1. I always got Highlights for Children, because Mama thought I should. But I don’t remember being particularly interested in it. I think I had a pretty short attention span. Weightwatchers now give us a little flyer every week that reminds me of Highlights. I am enjoying this adult version much more than I did the original. I guess my attention span has lengthened at least a little bit! 🙂

    Thanks once again for a reminder of my childhood!

  2. Kathie Tank

    Is the Activities Magazine you have pictured, 1943 reddish pink cover, for sale? I remember that specific issue. There’s a long story, but I want to know if I can purchase it and for what price? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

