In Celebration of General and Mrs. Washington

In commemoration of the birth of our First President, I offer this recipe named after his wife. Although I don’t know how it came to be named after the First Lady, I seriously doubt it reaches back into the early years of our country. Who developed this candy? I don’t know, but I’m certainly glad they did.

MARTHA WASHINGTON CANDY

1 stick butter, melted
1 lb. Angel Flake Coconut
1 lb. pecans, chopped fine – but not too fine
1 can Eagle Brand milk
1 1/2 lb. powdered sugar

1. Mix all ingredients thoroughly.
2. Roll into 1″ balls.
3. Chill for 30 minutes.
4. Melt 2) 6 oz. packages chocolate chips with 4 oz. paraffin in double boiler. Keep the heat on low.
5. Using toothpicks, dip each ball into melted chocolate to coat thoroughly.
6. Place dipped balls onto waxed paper covered cookie sheet to set.
7. Remove toothpicks.

Notes:
*The taste of this candy is very much like an Almond Joy, except for the pecans. And substituting or adding pecans never hurt anything. Fresh, local pecans are best if you can get them. I didn’t realize it for years, but they do make a difference in the taste.

*The first time I made this recipe, I was offended by the paraffin and tried to omit it. It was a real mess and wouldn’t set.

*Keep most of the dough balls in the refrigerator while you’re dipping, bringing out only a few at at time. They quickly warm to room temperature and will slide off the toothpick when dipping.

*Store them in the refrigerator except when you bring them out to serve; this keeps the chocolate from getting warm and sticky.

*After they set up on the waxed paper cookie sheet and there is a little hole left in the top of each piece of candy where the toothpick has been removed. This bothers my husband (hereafter known as the Creative Perfectionist). His solution is to take spoonfuls of the melted chocolate and drizzle it over the tops, filling the holes. This makes a lovely presentation and gives the look of expensive, handmade chocolates. Well, they are handmade, but they aren’t all that expensive.

*Normally I don’t like “shortcut” candy, cakes, etc., but this is a really good recipe with a wonderful flavor.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, Recipes, Washington's Birthday

4 responses to “In Celebration of General and Mrs. Washington

  1. Carla — These sound really good, even though I’m not a big fan of coconut.

    Regarding the coating. I would think you could use the coating chips that I use for cake balls instead of the chocolate chips mixed with parrafin. And then they wouldn’t have to be kept in the fridge. 🙂

  2. Sandra, I’ll have to go back and look at your recipe for the cake balls.

    However, I really don’t mind cold candy. When we buy those little Snickers or Baby Ruth bars, I keep mine in the freezer. It’s not that it keeps Joe from getting into them (really, it’s not!), I just like the frozen texture.

    But then again, maybe I need to soften them first, seeing as how I recently broke a tooth on – are you ready for this? – a Marshmallow Treat. The dentist reminded me that it already had a crack and they’d been keeping an eye on it.

  3. Hi Carla,
    I am sorry that I did not see your post until today. I am so grateful that you are still loving Jesus. I cannot imagine my life without Him. East Central was an amazing time in my life. It all started by my decision to go and sit with a person I always saw alone in the cafeteria. Before long the was a whole group who had been saved or kindled in their faith to really make a public stand for the Lord. It has been many years since but it has only gotten better. He is so wonderful. Bless you! Leonard Terry

    • Thank you for replying, Leonard. I was doing searches about some of our old classmates and when I saw your name on something, I did a further search. We didn’t know each other and probably never spoke, but I knew “Jesus” was what you were known for. It was comforting that there were people at East Central who openly put Him first.

      I didn’t know about you going over and sitting at the cafeteria table with someone who was alone but that speaks volumes about what we are to do as followers.

Leave a Reply

