Grapevine Farmer’s Market

Last Friday morning I stopped by the Grapevine Farmer’s Market and loaded up on fresh produce. Jack & Racquel Morehead were quite nice and their son cheerfully carried everything to the car for me.

Why buy fruits and vegetables at a farmer’s market (in Oklahoma we call them fruit stands)? Why not? I was going to buy it at the grocery store anyway, and there was something really nice about walking around looking at the vendors’ tables and talking with them.

Good old free enterprise and small business – the backbone of the American economy.

Grapevine Farmer’s Market is open Thursday – Saturday, 8:00 a.m – 4:00 p.m. and they take credit and debit cards.


I took home one of these beauties.

Another vendor was a nice family selling beef. Their ranch is near Decatur. I didn’t buy any then because I wasn’t going to go home for several more hours and didn’t have an ice chest with me, but I plan to get some later.

Steve & Susan Beggs sell lean, grass-fed beef. Go here for their website. She told me that the produce market in Decatur (the one in the little stone building just north of Braum’s) also carries their beef.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Grapevine, Local Shopping, Texas, Texas

Leave a Reply

