Nuns and Me

Sound of Music abbey



The Trouble with Angels

Where Angels Go, Trouble Follows
The Singing Nun
A Nun at the Crossroads
The Flying Nun
The Nun’s Story
Lilies of the Field
Yours, Mine and Ours
The Sound of Music
A Change of Habit
(and countless episodes of television programs when religious people were sincere and not the perps, for instance: Wanted: Dead or Alive, The Big Valley.)

My friend Mo and I were talking about the Christian faith, and she mentioned that her mother had been a nun before she married Mo’s dad (obviously it was before, but I didn’t know how else to phrase the sentence). I knew Mo had gone to Catholic school, but wow, this was a really fascinating aspect to my friend.

I told her that if I hadn’t been Southern Baptist, I would’ve become a nun. Certainly I would’ve if I’d been Catholic.

Nuns were absolutely fascinating to me as I was growing up; in fact, they still are. Women who devote their total lives to serving Jesus, whose very clothing is a constant reminder of who they are and what they are about.

Beginning in the mid-60s, my friend Carol Ford and I went to the movies together a lot. And if it had nuns in it, that was a sure thing. I even drug her to “A Nun at the Crossroads”, an Italian/Spanish film dubbed in English with very violent themes.

Sometime about midway through that list of movies at the top, Carol and I became candy stripers (teenage volunteers) at St. Francis Hospital in Tulsa. It’s the largest one in town and I was more familiar with it than the others, and well, if you’re 14 and you can’t be a nun, it just seemed the thing to do.

At least I could be around them.

Before or after duty, I would go and sit in the chapel and pray. There was such a holy atmosphere in that place and I really loved it.

In fact, I loved nearly everything about St. Francis and for someone who can’t stand anything squishy or biology or health class or science in general (and specific), that’s pretty good.

Many people I’ve known have an aversion to hospitals but I never did – until last year. After 17 days in one and all the pain and misery and lack of privacy and dignity, well … to quote Long John Silver, it “just plain gives me the shivers.”

But, nuns?

I still love nuns.

P.S. Oh, Carol who was more Assembly of God than Baptist, married a Catholic, converted, played a nun in her church’s production of The Sound of Music and sent her children to Catholic school.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1960's, Faith, Movies, Television

Leave a Reply

