Guess Who I Saw at the Grocery Store?

Hulda, Grace and Sophia Quebe (photo from their website)

On Sunday afternoon, Joe and I ran in Central Market to pick up a few things for a cookout at our son’s. It’s always (always) crowded in there and as I was threading in and out of customers in the produce department, I noticed a young woman and her mother (I think).

The first thing I noticed was that they looked like they’d just come from church, which is a little unusual for C.M. customers. Usually they look like they’ve just left the country club or the museum or something highbrow, so it was really nice to see ladies in church clothes. (Yes, yes. I know. I came of age in the early 70s and I know you can go to church in something other than dress clothes. But the older I get, the more traditional I get and the more I understand my mother.)

Very quickly after noticing their clothes (and remember this is only seeing them from behind), I noticed the younger woman’s hair. It was really beautiful. Probably long, and put up, but not an up-do. Kind of a roll or something but it was very unusual.

Then I hurried on to the fish counter to get a piece of salmon cut. As I was turning to put it into my basket, I looked up and saw the mother and daughter again – and I recognized her!

I said “Are you a Quebe?”

She smiled very sweetly and said “Yes”. Her mother smiled, too. If I had a daughter like her, I’d be grinning from ear to ear.

So, then I acted like a typical starstruck fan and gushed and told her how much we enjoyed their music and watched them on youtube, etc.

And I told her that their version of that Ray Charles song (the title having slipped my mind) was my favorite version. She said “Georgia On My Mind”. Yes! Of course.

Who are the Quebes? Go here for their website (and a link to their performance schedule).

They are a fantastic sister trio who play fiddles and sing. We first learned of them from an article in the Texas Power Co-op magazine.

She told me that they’re playing at the Levitt Auditorium in Arlington (Texas) next Saturday night – May 28th. It’s an outdoor event and free.

And you know how people sometimes look a little different in person than they do in photos?

Hulda is even prettier in person.

2 Comments

Filed under 1970s, Events & Museums, Femininity, Internet links, Music, Texas

2 responses to “Guess Who I Saw at the Grocery Store?

  1. Carla, now that I’ve seen their videos I’m a fan too! I looked at the article but it didn’t identify the girls as they stood in the picture. Which one is Hulda in the picture you’ve shown here? They are all beautiful, and I LOVE their harmony and playing. Thanks for introducing me to them.

  2. Sandra, I’m fairly certain that it was Hulda and her mother that we talked with. Hulda is the youngest and smallest and on the far left in the photo above. I’m glad you like them, too. Sometimes celebrities are such a disappointment but it was a real pleasure to meet such a nice young lady.

Leave a Reply

