Books Read, March – July, 2011

To catch up my reading list, the books below are listed by type, rather than by the month in which they were read.

(I’ll update it as I remember other titles – or find my list).

Mystery
Death of a Maid – M.C. Beaton, 2007
Death of a Dentist – M.C. Beaton 1997
Small Town Secrets – Sharon Mignerey, 2006


World War II

Non-Fiction
Entertaining Eric – Maureen Wells, published 2008; written 1940s
Notes to My Daughter – A Father’s Blitz Diary – Alexander Pierce, published 2010; written 1934+

Fiction
While We’re Far Apart – Lynn Austin, 2010
Henrietta’s War – Joyce Dennys,
The Devil’s Arithmetic, Jane Yolen, 1990


Early 20th Century Memoirs

A Vicarage Family – Noel Streatfeild, 1963
A Lucky Number – Vera Henry, 1957
Half-Broke Horses – Jeanette Walls, 2009

Cozy Fiction
Mrs. Tim of the Regiment – D.E. Stevenson, 1932
Kate Hardy – D.E. Stevenson, 1947
Summerhills – D.E. Stevenson, 1956
The Young Clementina (alternate titles: Divorced from Reality/Miss Dean’s Dilemma) – D.E. Stevenson, 1935

General Fiction
Joshua ~ a Parable for Today – Joseph F. Girzone, 1983
The Wetherbys – G. Clifton Wisler, 1992
Made in the U.S.A. – Billie Letts, 2008
One Second After – William Forstchen, 2009
A Promise for Ellie – Lauraine Snelling, 2006

General Non-Fiction
In the President’s Secret Service – Ronald Kessler, 2010
The World According to Beaver – Irwyn Applebaum, 1984
Among Schoolchildren – Tracey Kidder, 1990
Venus~the Dark Side- Roy Sheppard Mary T. Cleary, 2008

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Books, Children's, Cozy, England, Faith, Fiction, Holocaust, World War II

2 responses to “Books Read, March – July, 2011

  1. Carla, I just noticed the other day that I have the Billie Letts book. I don’t remember when I bought it, but I do remember it was because I really liked her first book, Where the Heart Is. Did you like this one?

  2. Sandra, it was a very difficult book for me. It was well written but there were a few parts that I absolutely had to skip over, and didn’t even give them a once over. I can’t stand stories where children are endangered, including a stupid 15 year old, which the main character is. Very, very stupid. The story moves along and really held my attention, and as I said is well-written but I’m not a modern reader and there were parts that were just too Jerry Springer for me. A few years ago I read “Where the Heart Is” . Is that the one you read?

Leave a Reply

