Night Photos

Our new camera has so many settings to choose from that it’s taking me a little while to learn about them. It’s not always easy to know which one is best for a particular type of photo. Something like Closeup is easy, unless it’s a close-up of a book; should I choose Text and zoom in, or stick with Closeup?

Texas Motor Speedway


In a moving car, do I choose Landscape or the Motion setting? The subject is not in motion – I am.

For the first time, I used the Night Landscape option as we were driving home in the dark. There was a really long delay before the shutter sound, then another long delay before the photograph showed up on the screen. At first I was really annoyed that they were blurry.


After looking at the review, I realized that it wasn’t the image I had intended. The bumpy ride really changed things. Usually I try to steady my hand; this time I just let it bounce away.

the car in front


So, I experimented (as much as one can when riding along at 60 m.p.h. in the dark) with shots of taillights and traffic lights and neon signs and lots of things.


Even Dairy Queen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous, Texas

Leave a Reply

