Thieves and Robbers

Since the pastor of First Baptist Church of Dallas got into a brouhaha over Mitt Romney, I’ve been thinking about the differences between Christianity and other religions.

Jesus said some pretty tough things about how to get to heaven.

In this age of inclusiveness and tolerance, His words are shocking.

They are a plumb-line. (Amos 7:7 Thus he shewed me: and, behold, the LORD stood upon a wall made by a plumbline, with a plumbline in his hand.)

John 10:1 “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who does not enter by the door into the fold of the sheep, but climbs up some other way, he is a thief and a robber.” “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.” John 10:7 (New American Standard)

A thief? A robber?

I can just hear the modern admonition: “But Jesus, you have to be nice!”

“Not everyone who says to Me, Lord, Lord, will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father Who is in heaven.” Matthew 7:21

Matthew 7:13-14 “Enter through the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and spacious and broad is the way that leads away to destruction, and many are those who are entering through it.

But the gate is narrow (contracted by pressure) and the way is straitened and compressed that leads away to life, and few are those who find it.” (Amplified)

Well.

How terribly politically incorrect Jesus is.

You may ask: The one who claimed to be the Son of God … you mean that He doesn’t place a moral equivalence on all religions and beliefs?

Right. That’s what He said.

He is the only begotten Son of God. John 3:16

Only begotten. Jesus and Lucifer are not brothers (a tenet of Mormonism).

“Beware of false prophets, who come to you dressed as sheep, but inside they are devouring wolves.” Matthew 7:15

There are more false prophets now than at any time during my life. Big ones (who form their own multi-million member following); and small ones, individuals who have a Colorform Spirituality (I”l take yoga and reincarnation from the Hindus, philosophy from Buddhism, earth worship from American Indians, etc.).

Jesus clearly said: “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No man comes to the Father but by Me.” John 14:6

God doesn’t grade on a curve. I’m not going to heaven because I’m better than Hitler, or that I’m a “pretty good person”. Nobody is going on those terms.

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;” Romans 3:23

Women don’t get there by being called up by their husbands (another tenet of Joseph Smith). We get there by confessing our sin, accepting and believing in Jesus.

That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. Romans 10:9

We all fall short – every single one of us.

And that’s why we need the Savior – to bridge that sin chasm between us and a perfect God.

Therefore, it’s Jesus + 0 = heaven.

It’s God’s heaven and he made the rules for admission.

Go here to read more about the differences between Christianity and Jehovah’s Witness.

For information about Mormonism, go here

and

here.

5 Comments

Filed under Current Events, Faith, Politics, Scripture

5 responses to “Thieves and Robbers

  1. Here! Here! I love your boldness…thank you for posting this.

    • As the other side has become emboldened, Christians seem to have retreated and that can be discouraging. Very few people enjoy being targets, and so there’s way too much hesitation in speaking the truth (I’m referring to myself).

      Then I read one of those neat little quotes on Pinterest: ‘You have enemies? Good. It means you’ve stood up for something.”

  2. Well said, Carla. You are setting the bar high for your fellow Christians — and we all need that!

  3. Carla, I’m a friend of Sandra’s, and I came over here after she posted about her meeting with you and Joe. I browsed through some of your posts and enjoyed “meeting” you through them. But I just wanted to tell you how much I appreciated this one. You’ve really done a good job of showing the Biblical definition of a Christian. Well done.

    • Thank you, Linda. I appreciate that you visited here and commented with your kind words. You have a lovely friend.

      It’s easy to say things that will make other people not like us, but how can I expect Jesus to recognize me when I stand before Him and the Father, if I don’t confess Him before men?

      He knew very well how hard the temptation is.

      “John 12: 42 Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue:

      43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.

      44 Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.”

      God forbid that I should love the praise of men more than the praise of God!

Leave a Reply

