Make New Friends

Carla and Sandra

Make new friends
But keep the old,
One is silver
And the other gold.

That’s a tune we learned in Girl Scouts about 1964 and it’s still true. My Mingo friends are absolutely precious to me Some of them are the same ones I learned the song with.

And I value the new friends I’ve made over the past few years, like Patti, Blanca, Geneva, Pat, Donna, Mo.

Now I can add Sandra to the list.

For a couple of years we were internet friends but hadn’t met face to face until last weekend.

Almost 3 years ago I discovered her delightful blog Add Humor and Faith…mix well through kind of a hop, skip and a jump around the internet. Coffee, Tea, Books and Me was where I started; actually one of the first blogs I ever read, back when I wasn’t really sure what a blog even was. A very interesting sounding lady posted a comment there and I followed the link to the blog she shares with her childhood friend, Stick Horse Cowgirls. Such an evocative title.

Well, C & V featured one of their reader’s comments in their sidebar – which finally brings me to Sandra. My first visit there was a delightful journey into her archives and stories about growing up in Springfield, Missouri and Indiana, crinolines, a brother and his car, older sisters and loving parents.

It surprised me how much we have in common, including visits to Tulsa. (Her grandchildren attend my old high school.)


So, this past weekend, we met Sandra and her husband at a Panera and had a wonderful visit.

The internet can be a scary place and not everyone you meet online is someone that you can safely meet in person.

But Sandy and her husband are real, salt-of-the-earth people, the kind that are also salt and light in the world and I’m so glad we met them. Joe and I had a marvelous time visiting with them.

They are shiny new silver friends.

6 Comments

Filed under Faith, Tulsa

6 responses to “Make New Friends

  1. Joe

    That’s Sandy’s husband on the right and Joe on the left. However, we are both right of center! 🙂 I hope we get a chance to vote for Herman Cain or Rick Perry. I would really love it if either Michele Bachmann or Sarah Palin was the VP. Actually, any other combination of the above four names would suit me just fine.

  2. I have been blogging for almost two years – not every day but most days, It all began when my daughter urged me to tell my stories in print by way of a blog. I had been sharing at my church, but some thought I was preaching too much. I knew nothing about a blog, but there is so much to learn. It is so lovely to meet new people through their posts. The blog hops are so much fun too. Thanks for your comment on my post at Food on Friday.

  3. We really are “like thinkers” Carla — I’m preparing a post about our visit right now for MY blog. 🙂

  4. Pingback: A Fun Lunch in Tulsa « Add Humor and Faith….mix well

  5. Joe

    It is wonderful to meet new friends. It is more wonderful when they are as interesting and as nice as Sandy and her husband!

Leave a Reply

