Paper Crop

What’s a Paper Crop?

Well, it’s sort of like a quilting bee, except that the medium is paper rather than fabric. Also, participants bring their individual projects (such as scrapbooks, handmade greeting cards, ATCs, altered books, etc.) and own supplies and then share a workroom.

My sister attends them frequently in Oklahoma, but I never have until a couple of weeks ago.

Patti (a friend of mine) took me to the … well, I’m not sure what it’s called in the Methodist Church; in a Baptist Church it would be a Deacons’ meeting… anyway, we went to ask permission to use their community room for a paper crop and they graciously approved.

Four showed up: Patti, her grandchildren and me.

In the ways of the world I guess that qualifies as a failed party, but I count it as a success. We had fun.

Because I wasn’t having to make coffee and do the demonstrations that we had planned or draw names for the door prizes, I had the time to help Patti with her project, and also show the children how to do some things. They were focused on their creations and had a good time.

And when guests at a party and the hostess all enjoy the event – that’s a success.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cards, Children, Crafts - Paper

Leave a Reply

