Window shopping

Living out in the country, we drive a lot of back roads and I have my favorite homes on most of them. Some are grand. Some aren’t.

They vary a lot; some are genuine Queen Anne Victorians, some are carpenter gothic. Nearly all the old homes in Waxahachie are favorites.

Strickland Sawyer House, Waxahachie, Texas


This beauty is on the market.

Just think, one could buy it and have it decorated and on next year’s Gingerbread Home Tour in 2013!

(Save the dates June 2nd and 3rd, 2012. Go here for a preview of this year’s slate of homes and more information.)

Grape Hyacinths

Out towards Weatherford is a converted school; it looks really old – well, old for this part of the country.

One in Justin is an old red brick Church of Christ building. Hard to tell, but I think it’s been made into apartments. Gorgeous lace curtains on the windows. I’d love to live there.

Ordinarily, I’m fairly uncomfortable with church buildings being used for other purposes, but this one seems okay. Not so the one in Owasso, Oklahoma that now houses a bar and restaurant – that just gives me the creeps.

There are some really cool metal buildings that are very individualistic and attractive. Lots of personal style.

And generally, I’m not crazy about new houses, but there’s a great one nearby us that’s built in kind of a Texas prairie style, made with that white stone (don’t know what it’s really called; we refer to it as Austin stone). It has wonderful porches on both the front and back that go all the way across. They even used to have a big longhorn in the field next to the house.

So, a few new ones, but mostly old.

This beauty was recently for sale in Justin.

What was it Elvis said? “If I can dream…”

2 Comments

Filed under Springtime, Texas

2 responses to “Window shopping

  1. Hi Carla! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Can you guess how much money I have left at this point? Let’s just say that being startled is still my weakness….HA!! It looks like Texas is all bloomed out just like Oklahoma…we hit 80 this week while we are in OKC at the stockshow….I prefer the mid to upper 70s. If it weren’t for the darn wind, I would love to be sitting around my firepit outside….which I can’t because we are here in OKC for a WEEK….blah. You and I seem to have a lot in common….I need to find you on Pinterest….off I go!!!

  2. I know how much money I’d have left if I were using this system. In fact, after getting cutoff by that woman in the white Armada today, I’d have to take out a loan.

    We live out in the country and have been waiting for a not-too-dry and not-too-windy day to have a bonfire. So far, when it’s not too dry or windy – it’s raining!

    As for sitting outside, I haven’t yet and I just know that in June and July I’m going to kick myself for missing the opportunity.

    Did you go to high school in Tulsa?

Leave a Reply

