Lunch at the Reata

Back in the early spring, Joe and I went down to the Reata in Fort Worth’s Sundance Square for an anniversary lunch.

I guess you’d call it “Upscale Cowboy” and it’s certainly worth it if you’re here for the western atmosphere. There are apparently no dress requirements like business casual because the last time we were there, the dining room was populated with men from the rodeo dressed in cowboy working clothes.

This is a huge mural on one of the dining room walls. The place is decorated with lots of western art, saddles, chaps, etc., even the restrooms.

Pecan biscuits and cornbread


These are served while waiting for your entree. The pecan biscuits were especially good, but then again, I can’t see how pecans wouldn’t make anything better!

Reata Vegetable Plate

Can you believe this Vegetable Plate??

Most of the entrees are fairly meat heavy, and although I’m not a vegetarian, I really just don’t much like meat. When waitress suggested the Vegetable Plate, I asked her what was on it. Most places let you choose about 3 sides, so when she kept naming them off, I asked how many to choose. She said they were all on it.

Yellow squash, zucchini, sautéed onions, carrots, polenta, brown beans, green beans, portabello mushroom, tomatoes, spinach, corn, and asparagus. And I asked for a serving of grits (which were some of the best I’ve ever had). Don’t remember if I’ve left anything out. Of course, I couldn’t eat all of it, so I brought it home in the niftiest carryout setup I’ve ever seen and had 2 more meals from it later.

Joe had the chili rellenos and said they were good, but that he actually wished he’d ordered a Vegetable Plate, too.

Go here for the link to their Lunch Menu.

I have several other photos that were going to be included in this post, but I can’t get them to load and crunch. Maybe later.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Fort Worth/Dallas, Restaurants, Texas

One response to “Lunch at the Reata

  1. Joe

    Wonderful memories of a glorious lunch at the Reata! Let’s do it again next year!

Leave a Reply

