Visiting bookshelves

visiting

I’ve seen a quotation on Pinterest, something to the effect of: Before we become friends, I’d like to take a peek at your Pinterest boards.

They’re like a mini-resume of a personal nature.

Likewise, whenever I go to a person’s home, I always find myself looking at their books’ titles.

Once in a while I see something familiar, and occasionally even spot ones that are on my own shelves. What are the odds of that when you consider just how many books there are in the world?

I’ve spent a lifetime with books; reading them, collecting them, reading reviews. Even reading books about books because I love them so.

Unfortunately, sometimes I see books in homes that give me more informations about their interests or lives than I’d care to have. For instance, once when we were overseas, we were invited to a couple’s home. There were large bookshelves in their dining room, and right out in the open, the husband had books about certain problems with wives (of an intimate nature). Very embarrassing.

And no, I didn’t pick them up and browse through them. The very title was descriptive. Maybe that’s why the wife spent most of our visit drinking whiskey in the kitchen by herself.

Thankfully, that kind of experience is rare.

Our home is small, and even though we have books in every room in the house (except for the littlest room), most of our volumes reside in the living room. Several years ago, one of our sons mildly chastised me for having political books right out in the open.

He’d had some friends over, and they didn’t like my choices; neither in politics nor reading material.

They were offended by my books about President Reagan and by William F. Buckley.

People are funny that way.

*Note: The quotation on my photograph is a paraphrased one. I can’t remember the original but if I knew the author, I’d credit them.

If anyone knows the original source, please leave a message and I’ll give the correct notation.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Quotes, Vicissitudes of Life

2 responses to “Visiting bookshelves

  1. Joe

    Looking at the books on their shelf is better than looking in their medicine cabinet! 🙂

  2. Glenda Pearl

    I believe books are most important in “the littlest rooms”! =D Though, in a few of the littlest rooms in my house I usually put magazines so that they will be read, because when not in littlest rooms I prefer books to magazines. You could say that in those littlest rooms in my house, magazines have a captive audience…

Leave a Reply

